One Word Creates Clarity, Passion, Focus, and Life-Change

 Linda's iphone Sept - Dec 2013 520

Words creates clarity, power, passion and life-change. The simple power of One Word is that it impacts all six dimensions of your life – mental, physical, emotional, relational, spiritual, and financial. Simply put, One Word sticks.” One Word That Will Change Your Life 

Last year at this time, I came across a devotion about finding one word to focus on for the year. I wrote a blog post about it here.

My word for 2014 was “STILLNESS”. Throughout the year, I would return to my word, and remember that I needed to be still. It was a lesson in discipline for me, as I’m not very good at being still.  So, how did I do? Overall, I did well!

Here are my reflections of the year of stillness:

1. Morning quiet time

This is the most important part of my day. I love the early morning. The house is quiet before the chaos of the day begins. I have my hot coffee or tea in hand (usually made by my darling husband) and  I am able to be still with God. It starts my day right.

2. Running

For the first 6 months of 2014, I was planning to run a marathon. I started training, but unfortunately, my body wasn’t in agreement.  When halfway to my goal (21 km), my hip decided it didn’t want to run any more. I loved running. As I ran my mind was still.  I have yet to find a physical outlet that provides the same stillness, but I’m working on it.

3. Guatemala

Leading a group of teenagers to serve on a mission trip in Guatemala doesn’t really sound like an opportunity to add stillness to my life.  Truthfully, it wasn’t. We were on the go serving all day, every day. Being a leader, I was always “on”. However, every morning, I would get up around 5 am, go up on the roof and look at the incredible beauty of the mountains. There I was able to thank God for my life, pray for the students and the people we were there to help and just be still. It was perfect!

4. Life change

2014 brought a change of job for me.  This change had given me time to analyze and figure out who I am, what drives me, my strengths and my weaknesses. The development of humility, patience, leadership, direction, motivation and stillness have been incredibly valuable.

So, on to my new word for 2015. As I prepared my heart for what my new word would be, a theme kept recurring. I feel like 2015 will be another year of change, growth and renewal. But as opposed to stillness, I feel it be a year of action. Every scripture I read, every thought I had, kept coming back to the same word…RENEW

My ONE WORD for 2015 – RENEW. Renew my body, mind and spirit.

1. Renew – Body

Renew my health – Over the last six months that I haven’t been able to run, I’ve been on a downward spiral with my health. It’s time to kick start my health and take care of the body I’ve been given. I plan to get moving (again!) and make better food choices. No, I’m not going on a “New Year’s Resolution Diet”. I’m going to get back to my active, healthy self. 🙂

1 Corinthians 6:20 For you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.

Isaiah 40:31  But they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.

2. Renew – Mind

Renew my confidence, dreams and goals – To some people, I am a very confident women. Yet, sometimes I  feel like a scared little girl inside, who doubts her abilities and is unsure of herself. I want to renew the confidence in my dreams and goals. Where to I want to be? What do I want to do? What makes me truly happy? What’s my passion?

Romans 12:2 Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.

Ephesians 4:23 And to be renewed in the spirit of your minds,

3. Renew – Spirit

Renew my faith – Faith is a journey. We are always growing, learning and developing. This year, I want to renew my childlike faith. I want to deepen my understanding of the bible and continue to grow in my relationship with Jesus.

Psalm 51:10 Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me.

I look forward to what 2015 is going to bring. I look forward to focusing on my one word and hope it will provide clarity, purpose and passion. Yes, of course I would love God to lay it all out on a calendar and tell me what’s next. (That’s the planner in me.) Yet, I’m okay with waiting. He’s preparing me and I want to be ready. 🙂

Do you have ONE WORD? I’d love to hear your word for 2015.

5 Replies to “One Word Creates Clarity, Passion, Focus, and Life-Change”

  1. Be still and wait upon the Lord 😃😃😃 or be still and listen to the Lord😇😇😇😇

    ..Enjoy your day …Stuart F.

    >

  2. Hi Linda, Thank you for sharing your post with me! I love your word for 2015 – “Renew” – and will be glad to read your reflections at the end of 2015. Thanks, too, for the prompt to think of my own word. The Lord brought the word “trust” to mind – haven’t had chance to sit with it long enough to elaborate yet but it is posted above my computer. Still catching up from time away – see attached! – and needing to do some serious planning for our time away for the whole of Feb. but did just want to take a moment to say how much I appreciate you – your honesty, your desire to grow, your commitment to projects that are close to the heart of God. Love, Gwen

Leave a Reply

