Transforming Through Transition

 10256513_10152966358607814_1770742474483634196_n

Unless you are prepared to give up something valuable you will never be able to truly change at all, because you’ll be forever in the control of things you can’t give up.” Andy Law 

Change means to transform. In order to move from one point to another a transition is required. It’s during the transition phase that change happens.

I love change. I love the excitement and anticipation of what’s next. I was one of those kids that moved my room around at least once a month, just for fun. However, big life change can be hard and scary.

Life change occurs in marriage, children, jobs, homes, faith, finances and health.  This year, as most of you know,  I’ve gone through a job transition.  It was not as easy as I thought it would be. Thankfully, I’ve been surrounded by amazing people who have been supportive and patient.  And I have allowed myself the grace to feel all the emotions of change.

I recently read an fantastic article by Ron Edmundson called 7 Emotions of Change.   He followed that article with The Absolute Most Common Reason Change is Resisted. 

These two articles resonated with truth. I loved my previous job, and I love where I am now, but transitioning from one to another was way more difficult than I had anticipated. I experienced every one of the seven emotions of change in some degree.

  • Fear
  • Grief
  • Enthusiasm
  • Anger
  • Confusion
  • Loneliness
  • Sadness
  • Numbness

Including the most common reason change is resisted:

  • A sense of loss (including loss of power,comfort, control, information, familiarity, tradition and stability)
Even though going through change is exciting, it can be scary, sad, lonely, confusing and numbing. Are you a new mom? Recently moved cities? Recovering from an injury/illness? Become a new Christian? I’m sure you’ve felt at least some, if not all, these emotions at some point. Acknowledging and trusting that it is a transition phase will help to build your character through the transformation. As Socrates said “The secret of change is to focus all of your energy, not on fighting the old, but on building the new.”

Change takes time, energy, support, and patience (lots of patience!) to allow yourself to feel and accept the emotions of change. If you do, you allow yourself the grace to work through it. You have the peace of knowing that you’ve done what God asked of you.

God prepares us for what’s next in our lives through change. When we trust God throughout the transition phase, he trusts us with the next stage he’s preparing us for. It’s pretty awesome!

What change have you gone through lately?  How did you manage the transition?

Ecclesiastes 3:1
For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven
6 Replies to “Transforming Through Transition”

  1. You are a very talented gifted young woman …you can think ,,write and express yourself very well and intelligently…may the Lord continue to guide and protect you and yours 😇😇😇😇😇

    ..Enjoy your day …Stuart F.

    >

  2. Love your blog. Not sure where I’d be without it or without knowing you. Thank-you for this great perspective as I begin a very challenging day. God bless.

  3. Hi Linda, Your thoughts on “change” as so “right on”! Why should I be surprised?

    I heard it said years ago that “change – even change for the better – is difficult” and have proved in my own life that this is so – yet change produces wonderful “growth spurts” if we allow it to do so, and I know you will have experienced that for yoursle this year.

    Robert and I head out to Winnipeg on Weds. Joanne travelled there today. She and Brad surprised us by getting engaged 2 weeks ago. We are delighted. Brad has waiting patiently for several years for Jo to be ready to make this change!

    We do pray that you and your family will enjoy a truly blessed Christmas.

    With love,

    Gwen

    1. I love that…”change produces wonderful growth spurts”. Just like when kids go through growth spurts, they suffer growing pains. But in the end they are taller and stronger. 🙂

      Have a wonderful, love filled Christmas with your family. And what a time to celebrate an upcoming wedding!

      Have a very Merry Christmas, Gwen. See you in the new year.

      Lots of love.

Leave a Reply

