Nothing to Say? Say Nothing

P1160945

If you have nothing to say, say nothing.”  Mark Twain

You many have noticed that I have been quiet on my blog lately.  It’s not that I’ve given up on it –  I haven’t.  I have just needed to be silent.  I don’t write just for the sake of writing.  I want to make sure that I have something to say. I want to encourage, inspire and empower people to live a life filled with  hope. So, if I don’t have the words, I don’t write publicly.  That may surprise some of you that know me. I mean, I talk…a lot!  I always have something to say.  So, when I don’t feel I have anything to say out loud (or in a blog), I know it’s time for silence.

If you remember, my one word for 2014 is Stillness.  I wrote about that here: One Word  I have tried to respect that.  To be still, I need to be disciplined.  So I have been quiet lately, in my stillness, reflecting, renewing, re-energizing.

Since returning from Guatemala, I haven’t had many words to write.  No, I haven’t fallen into a depression. I’m thankful for that.  I feel great.  I feel strong.  I feel inspired.  I feel God is leading me on a new path, on an unknown journey.   I trust Him.  I’m excited (and a little scared), about what He has in store for me next.  I mean, seriously, look at where he’s lead me so far! Where will I be lead next?  I don’t know.  But I do know that I will follow.

Even though I feel good right now, I do also feel sad.  I feel weighed down.  I feel tired. Not only did I experience sadness in Guatemala, but the hurt and pain that people are in at home, can sometimes be a lot to bear.  I wish I could do more.  I wish I could take on their suffering.  I wish I could wrap my arms around the world in a great big hug. Unfortunately, I can’t do that.  All I can do is offer my words of hope to encourage others in whatever their struggle.  You will overcome it.  You will beat it.  You will.   There is hope and joy in this world.

I’m sure my words will return to me soon.   I will continue to pray for those suffering (in whatever capacity) at home and around the world.  I will continue to lean on God to give me strength.  I pray that you too get your strength from God, or even find God in the process.

Sometimes silence can give you all the words you need to hear.   I’ll wait patiently in my silence.

Psalm 62:5 ESV
For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him.
Leave a Reply

