3 Words I Couldn’t Say: I Love Myself

Love much

“To love one’s self is the beginning of a life-long romance”  Oscar Wilde

Even now, as I write “I love myself”, it feels wrong. For most of my life, I haven’t loved myself. I wanted to be prettier, thinner, more articulate, funnier and on and on. When I clearly understood the unconditional love of God, I was finally able to say “I LOVE MYSELF!”.

It makes me wonder WHY I didn’t love myself. I mean, I was a good person. I tried my best. I have amazing parents and a great sister. I love my husband and children. So how come I couldn’t love myself? Truthfully, I didn’t I have an answer.

I can however answer the question, “Why DO I love myself?” Even though a part of me may still want to be prettier, thinner, more articulate and funnier, I can now see that God made me perfectly. Wow. Even thinking about that still blows my mind. Out of billions of people on earth, he made ME!! Why little ole me? Well, he has a plan and purpose for my life, that only I can fulfill. How awesome is that? As a result I have more of a desire to take care of myself. I try to be physically active, eat healthy and rest because my body is a gift from God. It’s up to me to take care of it. I am the only person who can take care of myself.

I look at my children, and I think how could they not love themselves? They are perfect, in their own unique ways. I do pray that I can help teach them that they are loved unconditionally by a heavenly Father who made them for a purpose and that they are loved unconditionally by parents who have been chosen to guide and teach them in life. I pray that they can love themselves for who they were made to be.

As I fell in love with Jesus, I fell in love with myself. I was then able to love my husband, children, family and friends more completely. I couldn’t fully love my “neighbours”, until I first learned to love myself .

Do you suffer from self hate? Have you found a way to fully love yourself?

Matthew 19:19 (NIV)
Love your neighbor as yourself.

Leave a Reply

