When It Gets Hard, That’s When Change Happens

before and after

“Life is change.  Growth is optional.  Choose wisely.”  Karen Kaiser Clark

Most people know  Jillian Michaels.  She is one of the trainers on the reality TV show Biggest Loser.  She has a variety of training/workout videos and  is a motivational speaker.  I own a Jillian Michaels DVD called, 30 Day Shred.  A couple months ago, I was working out to the video, and in Level 1 she said, “Don’t stop! When it gets hard, that’s when change happens.”

That really hit home for me, for a few reasons.  Five years ago, I lost over 70 lbs, through healthy eating and exercise.  Unfortunately, due to depression and illness, I gained some weight back.   Yet, this year, through lots of hard work, gruelling videos, miles running, and healthy eating, I was able to shed 25 lbs prior to my surgery in June. Ya, that’s pretty awesome!  And the best thing about it, is how good I feel when I am healthy.

shorts

But what really hit me about that statement, is how true it is for LIFE.  In life, when things get really difficult, that’s when change happens.  It’s true in our work life, home life, personal life and ministry life. Ever notice that?

Sometimes God takes us through difficult periods, or seasons.  Ya, I’m with you,  I really wish He wouldn’t. Yet, when we come out the other side, are we not stronger?  Just like working out, when it gets really, really, hard…change happens.

Makes me think of my depression. Yes, it was hell.   No, I never want to go back there, nor would I wish it on anyone.  But I am definitely stronger and forever changed because of it. For that I am grateful.

So when things get hard, remember that this is when change happens. You may not like it, but do your best to embrace it. Whatever is waiting for you on the other side, will be worth it.

What have you been through that has made you stronger?

Romans 8:18
For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory that is to be revealed to us.
10 Replies to “When It Gets Hard, That’s When Change Happens”

  1. Amazing job on taking charge of your health! I love Jillian Michaels. I am forever quoting her mantra: “Get comfortable with being uncomfortable! That’s when change is going to happen!” It’s how I feel in my workouts and how I feel in my life. God didn’t put us here to be comfortable, though of course He asks us to rest. We’re to keep moving and growing and leaning on Him and like you said, we grow stronger in the process.

    Keep up the awesome work! 🙂

    1. I love your optimistic attitude! It’s amazing how we can relate exercising to life, isn’t it? Both can be hard, but the outcome is great! And from it we grow stronger. God definitely has plans for us! 🙂

    1. With God’s grace and love, we can overcome anything, can’t we? And it’s women like you, Tammy, who show courage and vulnerability, that help give me the inspiration and courage to share my story. So thank YOU! 🙂

  2. My Start partner is so wise. 🙂
    Yes, hard times have always made me stronger, so in some ways it seems shocking to me that the past two weeks has been very hard. I am forcing myself to follow the process, and along the way, I have cried, shouted, expressed Joy, championed others, and crumbled in fear.

    I hope that I am doing you half the justice you are doing me.

    As a side note – I am an over talker. An over writer. I have to edit and edit and edit my blog posts because I want to say everyone at once, and my posts could go on and on and on and…
    I love that your blog is simple and clean, with posts that pack a punch without verbosity. You’re pretty fantastic, my friend! 🙂 ❤

    1. Thank you for your kind word, partner! And it has been truly amazing connecting with you.

      It’s so hard, but it’s ok to be with all our emotions, and letting them run their course, as we go through hard times. That’s what makes us stronger. And through it all, you are going to be sooooo super strong! Look out world! 🙂

Leave a Reply

