One Foot In Front Of the Other. Starting Over.

image
“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”  Lao Tzu

We’ve all had to start over at some point in our lives.  Whether it’s starting a new job, starting a new training program, recovery from injury or illness or starting a new school.  It can be so hard.  Once you have reached a goal, or become comfortable where you are, something hits you and you are back at square one.  Ugh.  But what do you do?  Stay down or get back up and start again?  Yep, you got it!  Start over.

Over the last 4 years, I’ve had to start over many times.  It’s frustrating.  I trained and ran my first triathlon, only to be hit with a debilitating depression that lasted months.  So, I had to start over.  One foot in front of the other.  Then I got hit with a freak infection that landed me in the hospital and months of recovery.  Yep, you guessed it…I had to start over.  Very slowly, one foot in front of the other. I did eventually go on to train and run in my first half marathon.  Then just recently, I had surgery again.  Yep, you guessed it ….I have to start over again!  One foot in front of the other.  How do I stay motived to start over, again and again?  Good question.

1. It’s a choice

Each time I’ve had to start over physically, I put one foot in front of the other…literally.  I start by making it to the end of the driveway.  Next, walk down the street a few driveways.  Next, around the block.  Eventually, I would begin by running 1 minute, walking 1 minute, then slowly build up from there.  It’s a practice in patience, that’s for sure.  But knowing what my body can do, I have confidence that I’ll reach my goal eventually.
Throughout my depression, there were days I couldn’t even leave my house.  Yet again, I took it one step at a time;  out the door, down my driveway, around the block, as I slowly immersed myself back into life.  You have to choose to want to make that first step.  From then on, it’s gets easier.

2. Set a realistic goal

Whether you are getting physically active, starting a new job or moving to a new community, set a realistic, achievable goal.  Know what happens if you push yourself physically too hard or too fast?  You get injured.  Then you have to start over, again!  Same thing happens if you set an unrealistic goal.
I Can Do Anything – Starting Right Now. I have my dream, I have God, and I choose to move in the direction of my goal, even when I am afraid or unsure. Whenever I fall, I stand up, brush myself off, and keep moving toward my goal.
Jonathan Lockwood Huie

3. Find an accountability partner

I have a running buddy . We would get together once a week.  It’s not only fun to catch up, but it pushes us out of our comfort zones.  I look forward to beginning our weekly runs again, once I’m physically healed.
I’m also currently searching for a mentor, who can guide me in my spiritual journey.  It is so important to track with someone with who has more knowledge and experience on the Christian walk.  I have my small group and church, but having  one person to go to, would promote invaluable growth. I believe the right person will come into my life soon.

4. Know someone is watching

Yep, people watch your actions.  You can say whatever you want, but if your actions don’t reflect your words, you will be seen as a hypocrite.  No one wants that!  Most importantly, children watch your actions.  I need to be strong, push on and set a good example for my three kids.  So yes, I will start over as many times as I have to.

How do you find the self discipline, courage and will power to start over?

Philippians 3:13-14 (NLT)
Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead,  I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.
2 Replies to “One Foot In Front Of the Other. Starting Over.”

  1. Thanks for sharing the wisdom you’ve gleaned throughout your journey! We are bombarded in all forms of media by the perception that everyone else has it all figured out.

    I’m often left to sit & wonder why can’t I have it figured out like them. I actually wrote a blog a while back after having met Jon Acuff for the first time. The Lord revealed a teaching to me that gave me tremendous hope. It’s on my blog & it’s called “What My Voices Tell Me and How I Found Hope in a Lisp.”
    I look forward to this Start Experience Journey and learning a bit more about your story!
    God Bless you!

Leave a Reply

