Thank You. Thank You. Thank You.

image

“We must find time to stop and thank the people who make a difference in our lives.” John F. Kennedy

Words cannot express the gratitude that my husband and I feel for our family, friends, neighbours and online community for your love, support, encouragement and prayers. Not to mention the flowers, cards, gifts, childcare, snacks and meals. Community has once again wrapped your arms around us and cared for us. We are forever humbled and truly grateful.

When I posted my request for prayer last Wednesday (see post here: https://lindagoodall.wordpress.com/2013/06/06/please-pray/) we really didn’t know what to expect. We have never asked for a public plea for prayer, warm thoughts or energy sent our way. We were overwhelmed.

If you’re my friend of Facbook, you will have been entertained by my dear, sweet husband during the course of my surgery and recovery in the hospital. He was informative, detailed, provided regular updates, and he was funny. When I “came to”, I laughed along with him. He talked about stealing my meals (which was totally ok with me! Seriously, what is in Miami meatloaf, anyways?!) and yes, he talked about my gas issues on social media. Haha! People have been asking for more status updates!! I’ve said he should write a guest blog post on here. That would be fun, wouldn’t it? 🙂

As for the prayer requests, the doctor was fabulous, as was most of the hospital staff. My kids were a bit freaked out and didn’t like seeing me in the hospital, but we’ve fallen into our regular family routine now that I’m home, even though I still spend much of my time in bed. Kevin is doing great, but he’s tired. He’s back at work during the day, then caring for me and parenting full time when he’s home. He’s such a great dad!!

And me? Well, I’m doing okay, considering I just had surgery. I’m heading into Day 7 of recovery and things are going well. Yes, I get pain when I stand or sit too long. I get tired when I shower. I’m already on my second novel, watched 2 movies, flipped through a bunch of magazines, watched a few messages online, read a ton of blogs and, of course, napped. And I’ve only really been home for three days! I must be starting to get more energy, because today I had a moment of boredom. Doing “nothing” is not easy for me.  Patience is not my strongest virtue. But I am learning, my God, I am learning! And as I heal physically, I will continue to be aware and cognitive of my mental state.  Not being able to run, or be active at all, with physical limitations while I heal can play very funny head games. But I’m not going to let that happen!

So, thank you once again, our lovely friends. We wish we could thank you personally for every prayer, every comment and “like” on Facebook, every card, meal, visit, etc. Please accept this blog as a direct thank you to each of you.

And to those of us that are Christ Followers, we know that everything we do, we do it for the glory of God. And we give gratitude to Him for every person, every experience and well, everything, in our lives. Thank you, God!

1 Thessalonians 5:18
In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.

4 Replies to “Thank You. Thank You. Thank You.”

  1. Hi Linda,

    I am so thankful you are healing well. You have been in my thoughts and prayers. Be kind to yourself, give yourself time to heal and time to be still and know He is God.

    Love, Blessings and hugs,
    Chris

  2. Linda.,
    Chris could not have said it any better. Yes be good to yourself and heal in God’s perfect timing.

    Love Julie

Leave a Reply

