Please Pray

This is not my regular post of encouragement for family, health and mental illness. Today, I’m doing something I have never done before. I feel selfish sending out a request, but this is a personal ask for prayer. Many of you have already sent private texts, emails and messages sharing with me that you have been, and will continue, to pray and send warm thoughts. I am truly grateful to each and every one of you. I now feel we could use all the prayer we can get. For those that don’t pray, your positive thoughts and energy are definitely appreciated.

On Thursday,June 6th at 8:00am, I will be in the hospital having a hysterectomy. Today, I went in for my pre admissions appointment, only to find out that they had booked the wrong procedure!! After two hours of waiting, and lots of anxiety and tears, it was back on. I saw a friend who works in the OR, and said she hasn’t heard of this happening in the 11 years she’s worked there. Thanks to those that prayed for me while I waited.

Obviously, to have this major surgery, I have been having issues for a while. I even came across scripture that jumped right out to me:

And a woman was there who had been subject to bleeding for twelve years. She had suffered a great deal under the care of many doctors and had spent all she had, yet instead of getting better she grew worse.(Mark 5:25-26 NIV)

Thankfully, I haven’t been suffering 12 years! And the good news is, the woman in this verse is healed. The bible really does have everything in it. If you haven’t read it, you really should! 🙂

So, I am here to ask for prayer.

1. For me. I am grateful to have this surgery. Yet, truthfully, I am scared. My anxiety is quite high. Two years ago, I suffered an infection as a result of a biopsy (less than 1% chance). I trust the doctors and hospital staff wholeheartedly, yet part of me still worries. Also, since I’m not currently in pain, I’m not looking forward to the physical recovery. And, finally, those that know me, know that I am driven person, and love to be involved in the community in a variety of roles. It will be hard for me to stop…both physically and (more so) mentally.

2. For the doctors and hospital staff. We are so fortunate to live in a country with highly skilled medical professionals. Truly grateful for that. But as I have experienced, things can go wrong. After all, they are only human. I pray for steady hands and clean instruments, as well as caring and thoughtful support staff.

3. For my children. To me, this is almost most important. I know there is a fear with my children from my previous stay in the hospital. I need them to be comforted knowing I am well taken care of, and that mommy will be ok.

4. For my husband. Kevin is my rock. My best friend. My support. He will not only be taking on single parenting, but he will also be taking on the caretaker role. I pray that he will continue to find the strength and patience through the surgery and throughout the recovery.

So there you have it. I am humbling asking for pray. Even through my fear, I have a peace knowing that I have trust in God. He already knows the outcome, and has plans for me. So I will do my best to do as he says through his word:

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. (Philippians 4:6 NLT)

Thank you, friends.
Linda

4 Replies to “Please Pray”

  1. Hey Linda, It’s not selfish to ask for prayer. It shows humility. You have been and will be in our prayers and your family too. Everything is in His hands.
    See you soon!

  2. awww I understand your fears will pray for you. you are right to ask for prayer, its not like you were asking for new pair of shoes or a car. God says when 2 or three gathered.

Leave a Reply

