Are You On Your Life’s Chosen Path?

image

“Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.” ~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

Do you ever look at your life and wonder how you got where you are?  Are you on the path you thought you would be?  Or somewhere along the line, did something change and you are on a new path?  Yep, that happened to me.

When I was in high school, a guidance counsellor told me that I would be great in social work.  It intrigued me, yet I felt I couldn’t take on other people’s burdens.  So instead of heading to university, I went to college for tourism.  Why Tourism?  Well, it was simple.  I was 19 years old, I was rebelling against my parents, and well…I liked to travel!  I went on after to study Ecotourism, which I loved.  I also met some incredible, life long friends during that time.  As much as I liked to travel, and liked to help others experience nature’s wonders, I still didn’t know where my life was leading.

A few years ago, I decided to go back to school. I thought  it was time to get a university degree.  I enrolled in…you guessed it…Social Work!  Who knew over 20 years later, I’d be back where that guidance counsellor recommended.  However, I never did finish the degree.  Shortly after going back to school, I had the opportunity to work for The Salvation Army as the Community and Family Services Coordinator.  So here I am, in a position in the social services field, helping people.  Not only that, I work for a church organization!  That is something I never dreamed would happen to me.

Growing up as an atheist, I would never have thought I would attend church, let alone volunteer in leadership at a church, or ever work for a church.  Yet, here I am.  God certainly had different plans for me than I had for myself!  But incredibly, by trusting God with my life, He continues to open more doors than I ever thought possible.  He has brought opportunities, experiences and people into my life, and for that I am forever grateful.

Where is my path in life leading now?  I have no idea.  I’m just trusting in the journey and am excited to blaze new trails!

Are you where you thought you’d be in your life?

Proverbs 16:9 NIV
In their hearts humans plan their course, but the Lord establishes their steps.
2 Replies to “Are You On Your Life’s Chosen Path?”

  1. Three years ago I was let go of a job I loved and was unemployed for over 18 months. Myunemployment had run out, I was suffering some serious health issues and wondered what path I was on. I too had always wanted to be a social worker and went to college to receive a Skills of Helping Certificate. God opened the doors for me to be the Administrative Assistant for The School of Social Work at Lakehead University. What a privilege it is for me to support this program! When I think of all the jobs I applied for, and came in second so many times in the interviews, the promise “He knows the plans He has for us” is made so real. I encourage all to trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. Acknowledge Him and He will direct your paths. He is faithful!!

Leave a Reply

