The Love Of A Husband

kevin and linda

“The most important thing a father can do for his children is to love their mother.” Theodore M. Hesburgh

I love that quote.  Let’s read it again…”The most important thing a father can do for his children is to love their mother.”  Wow!  That really blows me away. And not because I’m a mother on the receiving end of the love, because it is such a true statement.

As you’ve read throughout my blogs, you will have noticed that my husband Kevin has been my rock. He’s been my support, my everything.  I thank God for him every day.

So, how is loving, respecting, supporting and encouraging me impacting our children?  It teaches them that as they get older and start dating (Yikes!! Thankfully, we’re not there yet!), they will hopefully have a foundation to build upon. They will look for partners who will love and respect them.

I also think it shows how they are to treat each other within the family. Respect is paramount. Of course, they are siblings and they fight like siblings (a lot!). But hopefully, over time, as they grow, they will learn to treat others the way they want to be treated.

Kevin’s support for me through all my down times, his encouragement with my exercise, his acceptance of me helping others through my work and volunteering. all shows his love for me. By doing so, he shows his love for me to our children.  I am truly blessed.

If you have a spouse, do you feel the most important thing they can do is show their love for you?  If you are a single parent, do you have support or a friend that shows you support and love, and models that, to your children?

Ephesians 5: 25 (NIV)

Husbands, love your wives.

3 Replies to “The Love Of A Husband”

Leave a Reply

