What Do You Do When “Everything” Goes Wrong?

image

“Laughter and tears are both responses to frustration and exhaustion.  I myself prefer to laugh, since there is less cleaning up to do afterward. ” ~Kurt Vonnegut

We’ve all had those days when “Everything” goes wrong.  You literally wake up on the wrong side of the bed, you get in the shower, only to find that your teenager has used all the hot water.  You can’t find any clean socks, because the laundry hasn’t been done.  When you go to put milk in your coffee, you find your son has used all the milk, and put the bag back empty (I hate that!).  Better yet, you spill the milk while putting it in your coffee. Ugh.  Then there’s the kids.  They fight, yell and won’t get ready, etc.  Then, when you think you’re finally ready to leave for the day, you can’t find your car keys. Can you feel my pain?  I haven’t even left the house, yet!

Then you arrive at work only to find that there are 29 new emails, 21 voice mails and volunteers and staff standing at your door with questions.  Then, oh yes, then…your computer fails!  Ahhh!!!

I think you get my point.  Ever have a day like that?  If you said no, you’re lying.   Some days “everything” just goes wrong.

The question is, what do you do about it?  Do you go back to bed, throw the covers over your head and hide?  Maybe.  Truthfully, that’s what we’d all like to do.  But sometimes that’s just not possible.

Here’s what I do:

1.  I go to my room and close the door

I remove myself from everything that is going wrong.  I walk away. When my kids were babies and they just wouldn’t stop crying, I would put them down in a safe place, and walk away.  It was safer for them, and for me. If I’m at work, I go to the bathroom.  I’m (generally) alone there.

2. I cry

Yep, sometimes it’s okay to cry over spilt milk.  Crying can be a release of built up tension, anger, frustration.  It’s okay to cry.

3. I practice deep breathing

There are great benefits of slowing our breathing.  When I’m in my room/bathroom/wherever, I do calming yoga breathing.  This not only calms my body, but focusing on my breathing takes away my focus of all the issues.

4. I pray

Nothing can calm me like God.  He is my strength, my refuge and my everything.  When I can’t calm myself, He can.

5. I laugh

When the day is just so crazy, and everything seems to be going wrong, sometimes the best thing to do is laugh.  I mean, seriously, if you look back…it really is funny!!!

After I do all of that, I suck it up and get on with my day.  That is, of course if I’m in a relatively good season in my life.  Some seasons, when depression is at the fore front, I literally can’t suck it up.  I respect that and have learned to use other techniques at that point.

Can you relate?  How do you handle it when “everything” goes wrong?

Philippians 4:13

I  can do all things through him who strengthens me.

Leave a Reply

