The Hour I First Believed

IMG_4983

Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound, That saved a wretch like me. I once was lost but now am found, was blind, but now I see.  T’was Grace that taught my heart to fear. And Grace, my fears relieved. How precious did that Grace appear the hour I first believed.  ~ Amazing Grace by John Newton (1779) ~

Even if you aren’t a believer, you can be touched by the song Amazing Grace. Almost everyone knows the words to the song.  It’s a song that just truly touches our souls. One of the worship leaders at my church once said it was like “God’s red carpet song. Every time we sing it He seems to make a grand entrance!”.

Almost every time I hear the line about the hour I first believed, it takes me back to my first hour.  Some people don’t have a big moment when they accept Christ.  God becomes part of their lives, interwoven with every aspect, and they don’t remember a time without Him.  Others have a “moment”.  Both types of experiences are equally real.  It’s truly between you and God.

For me, it was a moment. When I first started to attend church, I didn’t need God.  My life was good and I was happy.  Yet, I was curious.  What I didn’t know, was that I needed to be fully broken before I could believe.  It was during my depression that Jesus saved me.  (For my unbelieving friends…trust me, I know this sounds nuts!! I get that. It used to sound nuts to me, too.) I went out for a walk in the woods, which is one of my most favourite places to go to be with God. To me, nature equals God’s creation.  It was there that I finally surrendered.  I realized I couldn’t do this life on my own anymore.  I needed a Saviour’s unconditional love.  At that moment, I felt the biggest amount of relief and peace that I had ever experienced.  A weight lifted off my shoulders.  Somehow I felt “lighter”.  Did I think my life would be easy from then on?  Nope.  I knew that I had a long road of recovery ahead of me, but for the first time in my 37 years, I didn’t have to walk that road alone.

Listen here for Chris Tomlin’s version of Amazing Grace:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y-4NFvI5U9w

Does the song Amazing Grace resonate with you, even if you don’t believe? If you are a believer, I’d love to hear your experience the hour (or time) you first believed.

2 Corinthians 12:9 (NLT)

Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me.

2 Replies to “The Hour I First Believed”

  1. Aafter 40 years I can still vividly recall “the hour I first believed”. I had gone on a church retreat with a coworker and after being presented once again with the gospel of the grace and forgiveness of God through Jesus Christ, I gave my life to Him. My heart felt free, I fairly floated across the parking lot and woke the next morning with a desire to read God’s Word. Amazing Grace!

Leave a Reply

