Celebrate The Little Moments

image

“Enjoy the little things, for one day you may look back and realize they were the big things.” Robert Brault

 

I have a big story.  I know that. My life literally changed when I met Christ. I love sharing it whenever people ask.  Want to know more? Ask!

I have other big moments in my life to celebrate: my wedding, the birth of my three kids, my recovery from depression, when I was cured from a life threatening infection, traveling throughout Canada and the UK, my baptism and my first 1/2 marathon. There are many more, but I think you get the picture. Lots of BIG moments of celebration.

But today, I want to stop for a minute and celebrate the little moments.  There are thousands of little moments in my every day life that deserve to be celebrated.  Here are just a few:

  •  when my son runs out the door in the morning, but then runs back in to give me a hug and says, “I love you, mom.  Have a good day!”
  •  waking my kids up in the morning, when they look like babies again
  •  the sunrises and sunsets
  •  a client that looks me in the eye, and says “thank you” with all their heart
  •  making coffee and tea with my husband every morning before he leaves for work
  •  receiving a text from a friend just to say hi and that they are thinking of me
  •  watching from afar as my daughter performs gymnastics
  •  those deep two minute conversations with my teenager
  •  a flower breaking through the dirt
  • my quiet time with God in the morning
  •  fresh sun-warmed tomato and basil from the garden. Yum!
  •  crazy dancing with my kids
  •  telling made up fairy stories at bedtime (about three little fairies called Meghanna, Nathaniel and Jennica)
  •  driving on a beautiful sunny day, singing worship songs at the top of my lungs (thankful that no one is in earshot. 🙂 )
  •  freshly washed sheets
  • a walk through the woods
  •  my husband dancing in his underwear being nutso (I know…just try and get a visual! ha!ha!)
  •  coffee with a friend that needs a listening ear
  •  going for a run
  •  when I turn down junk food for healthy food (or forgiving myself when I do choose junk food)
  •  hugs from my mum and dad
  •  a smile from a stranger

So many little moments happen every single day. They really add up, don’t they? We need to celebrate the big moments, but we can’t forget to celebrate the little moments.

What are some of your little moments of celebrate? I’d love to hear!

Luke 16:10

“If you are faithful in little things, you will be faithful in large ones.

Photo credit: Ben Beauchamp, my awesome 13 year old nephew.

4 Replies to “Celebrate The Little Moments”

  1. Thank you so much for this post Linda, just what I needed a reminder of today. Would love to have the chance to talk to you further. My email is above if you have the time. DD

  2. Watching and listening to my grandchildren. Come to think of it, those may be big moments! Each one brings such delight to my heart:)

Leave a Reply

