If We Had “More Time”, Would It Really Make a Difference?

time

 The future is something which everyone reaches at the rate of sixty minutes an hour, whatever he does, whoever he is.  ~C.S. Lewis

Life is busy.  We all wish we had “more time” to do the things we want to do, see the things we want to see, be with the people we want to be with.  But would “more time” really make a difference?  I don’t think so.  It’s the choices we make that make the real difference.

As C.S.Lewis said, “The future is something which everyone reaches at the rate of sixty minutes an hour.”  We can’t change that, unless a time machine is actually created.  We are stuck with sixty seconds every minute, sixty minutes every hour and 24 hours every day.  Period!  So, how do we manage time?

I’m a yes person.  If someone asks me to do something, my first reaction is yes.  However, over the years, I have learned the hard way to evaluate the situation before jumping in with a yes response.  I always ask myself these four questions:

  1. How much time will the commitment take?
  2. Is it something I’m really passionate about?
  3. Are there others that could do a better job?
  4. How will it affect my family?

Only when I have answered these questions will I make a decision.  This protects me from over-commitment (which can happen so easily, can’t it?!).  Inevitably, this leaves “more time” to invest in relationships; my family, friends, and outreach.   How you spend your time is a choice.

I often ask myself, “What would I do if I actually had “more time”?” Hmmm, good question.  Spending more time with family and friends would probably be my number one answer.  Secondly, I would help more people.  Knowing that it is impossible to increase the amount of time we have, careful decision making leads to the effective and wise use of time.

How do you manage your time?  What would you do if you had “more time’?

Ephesians 5:15-16 (NLV)

 So be careful how you live. Live as men who are wise and not foolish. Make the best use of your time.

Leave a Reply

