Life. Is. Fragile.

image

Fragile: easily broken or destroyed; constitutionally delicate

Life is fragile…do you remember that?

If you’ve been following along with my blog, you know that I have been given a second (no wait…a third!) chance at life.  You would think that I would live every moment to the fullest.  And in general, I do pretty well.  Could I do better?  Absolutely!

Second Chance At Life:  As you know, a few years ago, I almost lost my life through depression.  When I came out the other side of it, I was so thankful to be alive and feeling well, that I promised myself  I would eat healthier and exercise to keep myself that way.  Am I “cured”? No, probably not.  Not sure if I ever will be, but I manage.  I now recognize my triggers and know when I need to take a step back and take a “break” from the craziness of everyday life.

Third Chance At Life:  Almost 2 years to the day, in March 2011, I ended up in the hospital for almost two weeks, due to a freak infection (less than 1% chance).  At the time, I didn’t really know how serious it was, but it could have turned out for the worst.  As my doctor said “You could have died”.  Ouch! However, I did recover.  I even went on to run my first half Marathon in September of that year!   I was sure this time that I would eat healthy and exercise to keep myself that way every day.  But alas, life gets busy.

I think I do okay taking care of myself.  Recently I have gotten back on track.  I began eating better and exercising more.  I’m feeling great! Some days it does take a lot of discipline to keep going and make healthy choices, that’s for sure.  One day, my husband had to literally push me out the door (and I love him for it!).  As I was running, I heard a voice reminding me that “life is fragile…don’t you forget it!”  Wow!  That just hit me.  I felt like yelling “You’re right!!”, but I thought I may get funny looks from the dog walkers on the street.  So I just let the words sink in

 Life. Is. Fragile.

 We all suffer one way or another.  We all know friends and loved ones that suffer.  There is cancer, illness, poverty, death, depression, accidents, homelessness, divorce, natural disasters, trafficking, famine, and on and on.  When we are fully immersed in the issues, it is easy to remember how fragile life is.  But as we go about our day-to-day lives, it is easy to forget.  And I do not want to forget.  I want to be reminded every day that I was brought into this world with a purpose.

  • I only have one life.
  • I only have one body.
  • I only have one chance to live this life that I’ve been given.

How do you manage to stay healthy in a busy lifestyle?

James 4:14 (NIV)

Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes.

Photo Credit: Jeff Stover

Leave a Reply

