When Opportunity Knocks, Do You Open The Door?

door knocker

“Out there things can happen, and frequently do,
To people as brainy and footsy as you.
And when things start to happen, don’t worry, don’t stew.
Just go right along, you’ll start happening too!”

Dr. Seuss, “Oh, the Places You’ll Go!”

I was recently faced with an incredible opportunity.  It was amazing how it all came about, so quickly.  Everything fell into place with ease (my work, my finances, my kids).  It was meant to be.  Everything happens for a reason, right?

When I received the confirmation details, I cried.  I was so happy!  Then, within seconds, doubts washed over me.  And I mean big doubts.  Every doubt about myself, who I am, my Christianity, my kids, everything came crushing down on me.  I ended up crying not out of joy, but fear.

 “Why me?”

“I’m not good enough for this.”

“What if I fail?”

“My faith isn’t strong enough.”

“I’m still a “new” Christian.”

“How can I live up to any expectations?”

It’s funny how this happens.  We can go from pure joy, to total fear within seconds.  Whether you believe it’s your own self-doubts, or Satan, it happens, and it will continue to happen.  It’s what we do to overcome it that counts.

I sat there and let the fear, doubt and shame wash over me. My first thought was to decline.  Give back the opportunity and run.  Then, I stopped.  I said “NO!”  That is not who I am, and I won’t let it consume me. I reached out for help.  I sent a text to a friend, who graciously offered to pray for me. His prayer was this… “That you would revel in what God has done in you and be open to what He wants to continue to do in you and through you.”   I sighed a breath of relief.  Yes, that is what I need to do.  God has chosen me (for whatever reason) for a purpose.  He knows that purpose.  I need to trust and follow that plan.  Even through the doubts, it’s not easy, but totally worth it.

Finding a way to overcome your doubts is key to accepting opportunities that come your way.  Whether you pray, change your thought patterns, use Cognitive Behaviour Therapy or whatever works for you…just stay strong! You won’t regret it.

So, I’m back to being excited.  Will I still be nervous, scared, fearful?  Ya, probably.  But I will also trust, learn and grow.

Do you run when opportunity knocks, or do you open that door?  What helps you to accept opportunities with grace?

Jeremiah 29:11  NIV

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Leave a Reply

